I Love the Taste of Honey but is it Kosher?

Honey and Apples

This is a question we are often asked as the answer is YES, pure raw honey is kosher. In fact, a very special relationship exists between honey and Jewish culinary traditions.

According to the Torah, (the Jewish law of God as revealed to Moses and recorded in the first five books of the Old Testament), Kosher foods are those that conform to ”kashrut“, or the regulations of Jewish dietary law. These regulations involve what types of foods may be eaten, the preparation and mixing of those foods as well as the method of slaughtering certain animals for food. While the bee itself is not considered kosher (only locusts are deemed kosher by the Torah), pure raw honey is always kosher since, unlike milk, it is not an actual secretion of the bee.

Honey is a staple food of the Jewish New Year’s holiday of Rosh Hashanah, which begins this year at sundown on Sunday, October 2. The Holidays culminate on the eve of Yom Kippur when the rabbi traditionally distributes honey cake to the congregation in hope for a “sweet” or prosperous year. While familiar traditions of Rosh Hashanah include dipping of apple slices in honey and eating honey cake, newer traditions for the Jewish high holidays include many recipes using honey. We will be sharing some of these new “traditional” recipes as the Holiday approaches.

At Winter Park Honey, we offer a wide variety of kosher honey. Currently we have over 15 kosher honeys to choose from.

Buy Kosher Honey Now!

Leave a Reply